Academics → MD Program → Overview

The Medical Doctor Program is a 4-Year Medical Degree that follows a terms-based structure and comprises a total of 162 weeks of instruction. It is divided into two main phases: the Basic Sciences and the Clinical Sciences Programs.

The Medical Curriculum incorporates the fundamental principles of medicine and its underlying scientific concepts. These allow students to acquire skills of critical judgment and to use these principles and skills in solving problems of health and disease. The content is of sufficient breadth and depth to prepare a medical student for entry into clinical clerkships, residency program and contemporary medical practice. 

Basic Sciences

The Basic Sciences consists of six terms, 15-week trimesters a year affords students the opportunity to integrate and retain the knowledge presented. 

In the Basic Sciences, the teaching approaches employed in different courses vary. These include lectures, conferences, case presentations, class discussions, peer teaching, and other methods that ensure students comprehend the material and actively engage in the learning process. The medical education program integrates practical components such as e-laboratory activities and computerized exercises. These practical opportunities enable students to directly apply the scientific method, make accurate observations of biomedical phenomena, and critically analyze data. Throughout the program, classes are scheduled to include dedicated periods for self-study, tutorials, and seminars where students actively participate. The objectives of the program are carefully crafted to guide the selection of curriculum content and serve as a basis for evaluating its effectiveness. These objectives also outline the expected learning outcomes or achievements for students throughout the program.

In order to be eligible for core clinical clerkships, it is mandatory for all students to achieve a pass grade in all basic sciences classes and components, including the sixth Semester. Following the completion of the Fifth Semester, University conducts the NBME Comprehensive Basic Science Examination. Obtaining a pass grade on the CBSE is a requirement to meet the academic eligibility criteria for commencing Clinicals, without any exceptions.

Clinical Sciences

The Clinical Sciences Program is structured into two components: compulsory core and elective courses. Accredited hospitals, either assigned by the institution or chosen by the medical students themselves, host clerkships as per the regulations.

The Academic Year is divided into three terms, and it is mandatory for students to officially register for each term.  Course registration occurs through the online portal, where students can easily view their registered courses and corresponding schedules, including information about course timings, locations, and instructors.

Clinical clerkships (core and electives) are based on a 1-credit-per-week model, which includes 55 contact hours of clinical practice, with the total number of 72 credits granted across the two years of Clinical Sciences.

The academic eligibility criteria for graduation are:

  • pass grade in all the clinical sciences internal exams.
  • obtain a minimum score of 61% of the overall grade of the standardized achievement test NBME Comprehensive Clinical Science Examination (CCSE).